Snare Sound that Skins My Hide

dyingf_trey

Trey Williams/Dying Fetus

Is it just me, or can the overuse of a snare drum detract from a song?

Obviously it all depends on what you consider to be an “overuse” versus just normal song structure.  As luck would have it, I have an example fresh in my mind.

I’m currently listening to the new Dying Fetus record, “Wrong One to Fuck With” and literally by the second song (Panic Amongst the Herd) I was getting annoyed by the incessant one-handed pounding on the snare.

I winced like Hannibal Lecter at the Baltimore Symphony when the flutists plays out of key.

hqdefault

Well, someone has to die.

Now please understand that I dig this album, but sometimes the sound gets annoying. It’s not just Dying Fetus, but I find that a lot of extreme metal bands today have the same idea in what is acceptable drum fill/sounds.

In contrast, the new Goatwhore album “Vengeful Ascension” starts off with a track called Forsaken which has a heavy dose of snare drum, but I don’t feel as annoyed when it’s more of a rolling sound.

Is that weird?

Maybe it’s because I have time to actually sit down today and over analyze the shit out of this.

I started thinking – how long has this particular snare sound been prevalent in extreme metal?

On Venom’s “Welcome to Hell” drummer Anthony “Abaddon” Bray played his ass off, but I don’t recall being annoyed by the snare.  I think the same could be said for Possessed drummer Mike Sus on the Seven Churches record and Jonas Åkerlund of Bathory.

When did the evolution come about? Am I the only one that gets annoyed by too much snare?

Just my random thought for a Monday.

 

Leave a Reply

